Ladurée

What a delicacy. My encounter with this dream-like delicious box of Ladurée macarons triggered me to start planning for my trip to France. Ladurée is most famous for its macarons but also seems to have cakes, pastries, and other sweets. As far as I can tell, the company markets itself with a princess-feel, and it’s probably highly targeted towards women. Just look at their packaging or website, and you’ll get the sense of it right away.

This was a gift from Carissa, who visited France during spring break (yes, I know my updates are late!). I savored them as I read a review of what the flavors were. There were six flavors in the treasure box: rose, pistachio, vanilla, black currant, chocolate, and raspberry. I have to say my favorite was rose with whipped cream ganache. So fluffy and so delicate. It almost reminded me of Japanese food, if you know what I mean. It made me want to eat more macarons, and so I searched into where I could get them. Ladurée has many branches in Europe, but I found out that only one country holds Ladurée shop in Asia, and it’s Japan! Two out of their three stores are located in Tokyo. I must go. But I think I’ll have to wait until I go to France and get the real thing first myself, then I’ll go to Japan to fulfill my craving.
Leave a Reply

