Coleslaw

Coleslaw is great to make when you have a head of cabbage in your fridge that you need to use up. I had bought this cabbage and found it spicy and strong, and didn’t like eating them raw and unseasoned. I had been making pickle out of it (simply chopped into bite size, salted it, and let it sit) but thought, “it’s time for a change,” and decided to challenge making coleslaw.

The hardest part of this recipe is cutting cabbage into thin strings–I hadn’t been training my hands for cutting too much, so the cutting process hurt my left hand! I used about five cabbage leaves and used the stem of it also, and added left over stems that I had kept from making my pickles. I salted it, use my hands to mush and sink salt into the cabbage. As the cabbage sat, I chopped up about ten fat baby carrots (didn’t have normal carrots) into thin slices, added them to the cabbage, put more salt on it. Then in a small container, I put together 2 tablespoons of mayo and 1 tablespoon of vinegar, and poured it and mixed the sauce with the veggies, seasoned black pepper on it. I let it sit overnight.

 

Leave a Reply

