Japanese curry!

This is another one of my comfort foods. Japanese curry is different from Indian and Thai curry because I think it’s sweeter. It’s really easy to make if you have the rue, you just need to chop up some vegetables, and simmer in low heat for one or two hours, and even let it sit overnight for deeper umami… you’ll have a perfect Japanese curry made!

This time, I used Vermont Curry package that I got from my friend. This happens to be a mild spice-level one, but I usually have a medium spice one at home. This recipe called for:

Curry rue (one box is for 12 plates)

500g Meat (I used chicken thigh)

800g or 4 Onion, medium, chopped

450g or 3 potatoes, medium, cut into four
200g or 1 carrot, medium, chopped up like potatoes
canola oil, 2 tablespoon
water 1400ml
1. Chop up all the vegetables and meat into your desired size
2. In a heated big saucepan, add canola oil. Once it’s hot, cook your meat until fully cooked.
3. Add all your vegetable. Actually, I like to steam my potato in microwave steamer for about 1 minute before I add it in with the chicken and other vegetable. But no need to do so if it’s too much work!
4. Stir your vegetable on medium heat for about 2 minutes. Add water, then lower the heat to low. Add the rue. I like to add it piece at a time, putting water and a block of rue on a ladle and carefully melt the rue with a spoon (as seen on one of the photos).
5. Once it’s all melted in and your vegetables are cooked, it’s ready to eat, but I like to keep it on low heat for about an hour or so, and thicken up the curry. Also, as mentioned above, you can let it cool off for the night, and the curry’s flavor develops even more! Serve it on hot rice and you’re all set!
*To store curry, you can put them in ziplock bags and freeze them!
2 Comments Add yours

  1. I made this with turkey one time. So good!

    1. Plates of Art says:

      Oh, turkey! That’s really unique, I’ve never had turkey curry before but sounds good 🙂

Leave a Reply

