Crepe

One morning I woke up hungry and wanting to eat healthy food. I started off with a basket full of organic blueberries and found myself wanting more food.

Pancakes (my favorite)? But I actually went for crepe! Crepe, originally from France, is simply thinned out pancake (source: Wikipedia). I usually don’t make crepe myself because obviously speciality stores can make much better crepe than a first-timer making this delicate piece of food, but I had wanted to make it the weekend before (and it was raining out = no incentive to go outside), so I took on the challenge.

I made a slightly healthier version of crepe using whole wheat flour and no butter (I know, maybe crepe is incomplete without butter), but I made a different version of crepe. I had one with brown sugar and cocoa powder, and one with Greek yogurt, brown sugar, and cocoa butter.

This recipe is adjusted from this recipe.

Recipe yields about 10 crepes.

Ingredients:

Whole wheat flower, 1 and 1/4 cup

Milk, 300 ml

Hot water, 150 ml

Eggs, 2 large

Brown sugar, 1 tablespoon

Salt, 1/5 teaspoon

Baking powder, 1/2 teaspoon

Vegetable oil, 3 tablespoon

Instructions:

1. In a medium size bowl, combine beaten eggs, sugar, salt, baking powder, vegetable oil, flour, and hot water. Mix but don’t overmix.

2. Warm milk in the microwave (maximum 30 seconds), and pour it in to the bowl with the rest of the ingredients.

3. Heat up a frying pan over medium heat. Pour in two big spoonful of batter. Use the contour side of the spoon and make a circle with your dough so it forms a nice thin and round crepe (don’t worry if your first couple does not go well! I had to try it several times!).

4. Flip once the bottom side is golden. Then cook for another 1.5 minutes or so, then you’re ready to top it with whatever you desire!

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Vinny Grette says:

    I ‘like’ how you made it healthier. Every bit counts, I think!

Leave a Reply

