Homemade Granola

With all theses homemade granola recipes and great photos of them online made me want to make one myself. I learned a lesson from making this is that… never, ever (repeated 124 times) put oatmeal under a broiler. On my first try, I burnt it… more like I caused fire in the kitchen. The mini accident made me lose confidence in my cooking ability, but my boyfriend encouraged me to try making it again with his help. So, I ended up having a end product, and recipe that doesn’t call for a use of an oven.

Ingredients (for one serving+):

Rolled oats/oatmeal, 1 cup

Salt, 1/3 teaspoon

Honey, 1 tablespoon

 

Instructions:

1. Heat up a frying pan, and once it’s warm, add the oats. Stir it occasionally until the oats turn golden.

2. Place the oats in a small bowl (enough to fit the oats), add salt and mix well. Then finally add honey (and any other spice, nuts, fruits you’d like to add. For example: cinnamon, dried cranberries, dried blueberries, raisin, almonds, cashew, etc.). Mix well.

3. Place a parchment paper on top of some container and place oats on the parchment paper. This prevents granola (with honey) from sticking to the container, which saves you time when you wash the dishes!

4. Put the container with granola in the fridge for about 10 minutes until the oats are cooled off. This is a super simple and plain homemade granola recipe I made myself. So there’s a lot of variety that comes with it, they’re super easy to make (and there’s no need to use an oven!), so it’s great year round!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Excellent! My girlfriend and I both love granola but have trouble finding it while abroad. And given with the lack of functional ovens in hostel kitchens, I hadn’t really thought about making our own, but this we can use. Gracias!
    (And thanks for stopping by my travel blog too.)

    1. Plates of Art says:

      I’m so happy to hear that this recipe has become useful! I’m sure you can make a cool variety using different ingredients. I’m sure you’ll be able to make the granola you and your girlfriend are craving for!

  2. Yum yum, looks good! I love making my own granola. Thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

