Brussel Sprouts

When you go to college, you get exposed to new food that is outside of your comfortable food you eat with your family. Brussel sprouts were introduced to my life four years ago, when I started college. I remember when I first saw it, I thought, “Oh my gosh! TINY CABBAGE! SO CUTE!.” I’m not exaggerating–I get excited about these things. Anyway, according to Wikipedia, my instincts were right, and they are “miniature cabbages” that originates in Brussel, Belgium.

The college dining hall often prepared these (over)cooked, but I found out a great way to cook them into delicious things! It’s my favorite way to prepare vegetables, grilling.

 

Instructions:

1. Cut the brussel sprouts into two or three, depending on the size.

2. Lay out aluminum foil on a bakeware, and throw on the brussel sprouts. Salt and pepper. Then generously pour olive oil and mix well (I salt and pepper it first so that olive oil doesn’t coat the vegetable, which prevents the spice from reaching the vegetable).

3. Put it under broiler setting in the oven for 10 minutes.

(Broccoli also works well!)

3 Comments Add yours

  1. sybaritica says:

    I never much liked these until I had them roasted… world of difference from the awful old boiled things!

    1. Plates of Art says:

      I know…! It’s amazing how perception of food changes with a simple cooking technique!

    2. Plates of Art says:

      Yeah, I’ve never had them in other cooking methods, but I’ve heard my friends say that their parents just don’t make it well. But perhaps roasting is the best for brussel sprouts! 🙂

Leave a Reply

