Flour Bakery+Cafe

… next time from this blog post entry in April 2011 finally came back as an entry!

Flour Bakery + Cafe has undoubtedly become one of my favorite places to go in Boston. Though the cafe has been around since 2000, I had not known about it until their third cafe opened in Cambridge on Mass Ave, a street I took very often during my college years (yes! I’ve graduated!).

Though I had only tried their tomato, basil, mozzarella sandwich in spring 2011, I simply loved Flour’s store and its concept, and I often had their website open on my browser. My boyfriend very perceptively realized my habits, and got me a Flour cookbook and selected a variety of baked goods for Christmas 2011!

And now, a week and a half has past since the beginning of my summer break, and I’ve taken myself to the bakery three times already (and plan to keep up my record). Jeff and I strolled over to its South End branch for the first time (and Jeff was at their Fort Point location for lunch that day), chose their sticky bun bread pudding for snacking. We had never seen this bread pudding on their menu before and it was the last piece in the display case, so we took the opportunity right away. Jeff enjoyed it with his coffee, and I enjoyed it for its not overly sweet, eggy and spongy, and comfortable taste. And since it was my birthday that day, we took home the hazelnut-almond dacquoise (“hazelnut and almond meringues with coffee buttercream and dark ganache and decorated with hazelnuts”). The description speaks for itself–the buttery, creamy texture from the buttercream (heh) and the slightly scrip texture from meringues contrasted but was put together nicely. And the chocolate ganache on the outer edge of the cake boxed and shaped the cake elegantly. Oh, milk on the side adds a plus.

Sticky sticky bread pudding
A slice of Hazelnut-almond Dacquoise

Then my second visit was with a friend for lunch at the Cambridge store. Though it was raining that day, it was already crowded at 11AM–great business! With my friend’s suggestion, I chose the curried tuna sandwich with apples, gold raisins, and carrots. First, I love the toasted bread for their sandwich. The curry flavored balanced out well with sweetness from the fruits. You can also get all sandwiches as a salad if that’s your mood for the day.

Curried tuna sandwich

Most recently, I took a morning walk to their South End branch again to pick up my longtime targeted baked goods: sticky sticky buns and currant scones. Plus an order of their popular raspberry seltzer water. The drink refueled me from my walk around the neighborhood. A bit sweet for my taste for drinks, but I’d highly recommend it if you’re even  a bit interested. Their sticky sticky buns. I had heard that it was too sweet to eat in one go, but I easily dominated that task (quite surprised myself, but it was that good!). The bread is not sweet so that the sweet from caramel doesn’t take over the entire bun. Few hours later on the currant scone–ahh my love for scones came back. It is moist and it didn’t break when I cracked it open, and it was dense. I took it to go so I could finish my morning walk. Perfect way to start the day.

I am purely in heaven eating Flour’s food.

Don’t forget, Joanne Chang has her sister restaurant called Myers and Chang in the South End as well!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Flour is the absolute best. Their cookies are amazing…looking at your pictures is making me drool!

  2. vplant says:

    Thanks for your comment on my review of Flour Bakery! The curried tuna sandwich looks so good. And those sticky buns…. Mmmm, I have got to get back there stat!

  3. Megan says:

    It’s so hard to choose a favorite at Flour, but the hazelnut-almond dacquoise is definitely my favorite. When I worked there, I loved having to trim the ends off… made a perfect morning snack!

    1. Plates of Art says:

      Wow, you worked there, so jealous! I just went to Flour tonight for dinner, and I must say that their mozzarella, basil, and tomato sandwich is my favorite! But that doesn’t include the baked goods section in the selection. When those are included, I don’t know what to choose!

Leave a Reply

