Oyster at Miyajima

Jeff and I visited Miyajima, an island that is only 10 minute ferry ride away from Hiroshima. The day was beautiful with lots of sunshine. I had been to Miyajima before and had a vivid impression of the deer around however did not recall a lot of food memory there. I guess I was not that into food back in middle school, unfortunately, but I got to discover the island’s food fashion.

Hiroshima and especially Miyajima are quite famous for their oyster. It seems like Miyajima hosts an annual oyster festival in February as well. Walking through the streets of shops and shops of souvenir and snack, we decided to try out their oyster at one of the stands. They fired it as we ordered and gave us a plastic, not even a plate, holder that neatly placed our ordered oysters. What was unique was that the seasoning was all up to us. The options were given in jars outside the small stand, and we chose to have one with lemon and another with lemon with Japanese seven spice.

I thought that the oyster was grilled nicely, but not the best oysters I’ve had. It was not as meaty as I had liked it to be. I think it was good regardless but would rather have other specialities instead.

IMG_7543

This dear was quite curious about human food
This dear was quite curious about human food
The famous shrine in water at Miyajima
The famous shrine in water at Miyajima
One Comment Add yours

  1. I love oysters! They look delicious! I must visit Japan! 🙂

Leave a Reply

