Homemade toasted smoked salmon sandwich

Sandwich: “a food item consisting of two or more slices of bread with one or more fillings between them.” (Wikipedia)

Very bland and simple definition in a good way because you can be creative with it. I think the key ingredient that decides the quality is the bread. So when I have good pieces of bread, my brain stimulates me to make sandwiches.

This time around, it was whole wheat bread I found at a bakery. Unlike the U.S., whole wheat and whole grain is not the most popular thing in Japanese households just yet, so it’s difficult to easily find a good whole wheat bread, but I found it at a bakery nearby! With my excitement, I splurged a bit and got smoked salmon and also bought romaine lettuce (I never buy lettuce because it’s so expensive for the nutritional value we get from consuming it). I spread whole grain mustard on my bread and made a nice sandwich with my ingredients. Toasted it at lunch time in a mini oven, and it was delicious! I thought for a second when I put my sandwich in the oven that heating this up will do no good to the smoked salmon, but I didn’t overwarm it, and it turned out great. I love this type of mustard! I wished that I had mayo, though. A key binder was missing. But too bad I didn’t have it in my fridge!

 

salmonsandwich2

salmonsandwich

3 Comments Add yours

  1. trixpin says:

    This looks delicious!
    I always think of cheese when I hear “toasted sandwich”. Maybe a little mozzarella or cream cheese would have gone nicely in there?
    Lovely blog 🙂

    1. Plates of Art says:

      mmm yes! cream cheese would go very well here! I’m also thinking some sort of spread-y cheese with garlic and herbs or something along the line…
      Thanks for your suggestion!

Leave a Reply

