Easy chicken stew homemade

These days on my way home, I get an urge to make soup or stew. For one thing, I wanted to make this winter a winter of soup. Tokyo is so cold (okay, I should not complain in front of some people), my apartment is cold (true fact. I live on the third floor, but I don’t think anyone lives below me), and you can include lots of nutrition making soup from scratch. Soup also can become your main meal or it could be a side dish. Plus, it is my path of discovery because my mom did not make lots of soup, so I get to gather ideas from my imagination and recipes to make my own creation.

This time, my urge to make stew literally walked me to get chicken and canned tomato at the grocery store. I picked up some other neccesities and used every other ingredient from the things I had at home (well, this recipe doesn’t require a lot of ingredients). I haven’t done this in a while, but here’s my recipe!

Ingredients:

Chicken breast, minced, 350 grams

Maitake mushroom, one pack (in Japan) or as much as you’d like

Tomato can, finely chopped kind, 400 grams/1 can

Onion, half of medium size

Ginger, as much as you’d like (I like a lot because I love ginger)

Spinach, 3 bunches

Salt, black pepper, garlic powder, tumeric (0.5 teaspoon), and sugar

Instructions:

1. On medium heat in a medium soup pan, cook chicken (no oil needed!) until meat is no longer pink.

2. In the meantime, mince onion and ginger in small size. Use your hands to split maitake mushroom. Cut spinach leaves into half in size. Chop up spinach stalks into small size (to the size of minced onion).

3. In the soup pan, add onion and ginger. Cook for about 3 minutes, then add canned tomato. Add all the powder/dry ingredients other than sugar. Cover the pot and let it stew for 10-15 minutes. Add mushroom and spinach leaves and stalk. Stir and cover and cook for about 5 more minutes. Check the flavor, add sugar if necessary (it depends on how sweet your tomatoes in the can taste). DONE!

I got to eat this three separate times. Twice with just stew, and one time with rice. Enjoy the photos!

chickenstew

chickenstew1

chickenstew2

chickenstew3

chickenstrew4

chickenstew5

Leave a Reply

