Egg and oil free! homemade chocolate chips buckwheat banana bread

Everyone deserves a treat once in a while right? With me being careful about my wheat intake (I am thinking I need to re-embed this mindset in myself again as I write this…), I decided to use my buckwheat flour that I have been meaning to use and add variety to my cooking. Previously I made this Buckwheat flour banana bread/cake made in rice cooker, and I knew this recipe was not for everyone. Compared to regular wheat flour banana bread, this certainly had the buckwheat taste, which I love, but the taste was not fully there with perhaps salt missing. So this time, I decided to revolutionize the recipe by adding chocolate chips and making it egg-less.

buckwheatbananabread1 buckwheatbananabread2

This recipe uses no oil, no eggs, no added sugar. Perfect for breakfast or an afternoon snack to fill your stomach with the right energy!
Ingredients:
*200grams buckwheat flour
*1 teaspoon baking soda
*Himalayan pink salt
3 ripe bananas
1/4th of fuji apple without skin
150g of dark chocolate chips
Sunflower seeds
Pumpkin seeds
Instructions:
1. Mix dry ingredients marked in asterisk together in a bowl
2. In a separate bowl, mash ripe bananas. Add shredded apple (or applesauce)
3. Mix the two bowls together and mix. This should give you a good moist batter with no dry ingredients left white
4. Add chocolate, sunflower seeds, and pumpkin seeds. Mix.
5. Put everything in the rice cooker. For more goodness, sprinkle seeds on top. Start your rice cooker at brown rice setting. Cook until rice cooker beeps (about 40 minutes), start another session and cook for about 10 more minutes. The bread (or cake) should be moist, and cut through the middle to check that bread is not too doughy. Enjoy!
I used no eggs because I was serving this to a person who had egg allergy. I substituted shredded apple for eggs. Also with this using no oil, the cake tends to dry fast left open air, so don’t forget to cover after cooling! Buckwheat also is a bit “heavy” and its taste is certainly different from regular flour but I found that several of my colleagues who had this enjoyed it. I am also currently adding a lot of seeds in my cooking, so I added a bit of power to this banana bread.
Leave a Reply

