Homemade winter root veg and red cabbage warm salad

I love color on my plate. There is a quote I like:”For optimum health, scientists say eat a rainbow of colors. Your plate should look like a box of CRAYOLAS.” I take color for health and also for aesthetics. My grandmother also always taught me I need to at least one green item on my plate. Those teachings sure have had a big impact on me and my decision making.

This simple salad is one I made when I had to improvise a side dish for dinner. I rummaged through these three vegetables, carrot, stalk and leaf of Japanese white radish, and red cabbage, in the fridge and made this simple salad. I used kombucha powder to dress (I know kombucha is popular in the States right now, so I hope this brings you new ideas for your views of this kombu fad).

wintersalad

Ingredients:

Carrot, half of one medium, julienned

Stalk and leaf part of Japanese radish

Red cabbage, sliced thinly

Kombucha powder, 1 teaspoon

Sushi rice vinegar, 1 tablespoon

White roasted sesame

Instructions:

1. Put together the three vegetables. I steamed my in the vegetable steamer in the microwave (Just 2 minutes in the microwave).

2. Combine kombucha powder and sushi rice vinegar. Mix well.

3. Put #1 in your serving bowl, then pour over #2, mix well. The *dressing* may be little, but will have a fresh taste from vinegar. Sprinkle on white sesame seeds.

This is great served warm!

Leave a Reply

