Homemade Summer Red Quinoa Salad

I’m not very good when it comes to measuring ingredients. I often ballpark it by eyes or I rely on my tastebuds, so it makes it very difficult for me to write up a recipe. What I do for inspiration is “rest” my eyes on food Instagrams, I look at the ingredients list or photos in these beautiful food blogs out there, and I mimic them or tailor them using ingredients I find in my kitchen.

I had a potluck coming up (I love potlucks, it makes me so excited for some reason…!), and I had a cabbage salad in mind and I also wanted to bring something more filling with grains in it. So I chose to make a quinoa salad.

For today’s recipe, I referred to this recipe from Gimme Some Oven. It will be good to refer to measurements from their recipe 😉 I wasn’t able to find red onion at my supermarket nor feta cheese, so I substituted orange bell pepper (which I like A LOT with my quinoa salads) and garlic & herb cheese with cottage cheese. Maybe I need to learn not to do last minute shopping…

Red quinoa salad2

Ingredients: 

Red quinoa (apparently cold quinoa will be food for salad making)

Cottage cheese

Garlic & herb cheese (I used Boursin brand)

Orange bell pepper

Cucumber

Fresh basil (to mix and also to top in the end)

White wine vinegar

Freshly squeezed lemon juice

 

I chopped a lot. I mixed everything in a big bowl and brought this salad in a flat container. It wasn’t a hard process, I just had to remember to cool the quinoa before mixing so it won’t cook other ingredients in the salad. Quinoa is a gluten free grain that contains plenty fiber and protein. White wine vinegar and lemon will do all the tricks to making this a summer recipe, and using feta or its substitute will add lots of flavor to this whole dish.

Red quinoa salad1

Red quinoa salad3

Leave a Reply

