Kolinky – Favorite pumpkin recipe and roasted seeds

I often get my cup of coffee at Streamer Coffee Company in Gohongi, and I picked up a new vegetable called Kolinky from Greenman’s Market. This vegetable looks like a pumpkin, but it’s much smaller than a typical Japanese pumpkin, and it weighs more than it looks.

kolinky1

So out of its pumpkin meat, I made my favorite pumpkin recipe: pumpkin slices with salt and garlic seasoning. It’s so easy to make (as always), you simply cut the pumpkin into slices (not too thick if you want to make it fast to shorten its cooking time). Heat a pan with olive oil, once warm and not overheated, place the pumpkin slices flat on the pan, sprinkle with salt and garlic powder (and if you don’t mind the extra garlic smell, add garlic scented oil with olive oil) and let it cook until bottom side is nicely browned. Flip and do the same on the other side.

kolinky2.jpg
Then with the Kolinky seeds, I roasted them to make snack out of it. What I did was I scooped out the seeds and washed off all the pumpkin guts with water. I let it dry overnight. Then in the morning, I laid them over aluminum foil that had salt and coriander seasoning, mixed it, and added more of the seasoning. I roasted it for 10 minutes or so (and I burnt some).
kolinky3
Greenman’s Market as a selection of vegetable and has its booth out right at the front entrance of Streamer every Saturday!
This is my Christmas post of the year! Happy Holidays 🙂
Leave a Reply

