Banana bread made with brown rice flour

I’ve now been experimenting with a banana bread recipe for half a year now. I was working on a simple recipe made in a rice cooker, but with a full oven installed kitchen and couple terribly blackened ripe bananas, I decided to make a more standard yet simple one. This recipe is a good one, and I highly recommend it!

bananabread1

 

bananabread2

The recipe is originally from Genius Kitchen, and I modified it with brown rice flour, less sugar, and added turmeric and cinnamon powder. Whenever I cook, I like to use ingredients that are more nutritious, so I used brown rice flour. I got a pack of brown rice flour from Bob’s Red Mill, which is made of whole grain, and it is packed with protein, iron, fiber, and vitamin B. Apparently baking with it makes the baked good have a more brownish color, which I thought I got from honey for my banana bread, and it made my banana bread more handsome for sure!  It turned out perfectly moist, and it has stayed moist even after couple days of leaving it on the kitchen counter. I wish I had added less sugar, but that will be for next time.

Ingredients:

Butter, 1/2 cup at room temperature

Honey, 3 tablespoon

Coconut sugar, 5 tablespoon

Eggs, 2 large beaten

Banana, 3 medium crushed

Brown rice flour, 1 1/2 cups

Baking soda, 1/2 teaspoon

Salt, a pinch of it

Vanilla extract, 1/2 teaspoon

Turmeric powder, 1 teaspoon

Cinnamon powder, 1 teaspoon

 

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 Fahrenheit
  2. Mix together butter and sugar. Make sure your butter is still solid and not melted if you made it room temperature by microwaving!
  3. In this mixture, add beaten eggs and crushed banana. Lastly, add vanilla. That’s your wet ingredients bowl.
  4. In a separate bowl, sift together flour, baking soda, salt, turmeric, and cinnamon.
  5. Slowly add wet ingredients in dry ingredients bowl. Mix but do not over mix. You want to mix until you see no more dry ingredients in powder form.
  6. Pour your mixture into a greased loaf pan. I greased mine with my butter wrapper.
  7. Bake for 55 minutes… done!
Leave a Reply

